Auckland Schools’ Debating is an organization run by the Auckland University Debating Association.  The competition involves 54 schools and a total of 1500 students debating a wide range of topics from banning cellphones in schools to making New Zealand another state of Australia. Tangaroa has been in this competition since 2007 and we have been hosting the Southern Junior Open Zone since 2008.  We have also entered teams into the Southern Senior Open Zone and the Advanced Open (all zones) for the past 14 years.